The Hunchback of Notre Dame and Treasure Planet

December 8, 2007

Hunchback poster Treasure Planet poster

I realized that we haven’t written a lot about children’s movies, so I thought it might be interesting to compare two animated movies made by Walt Disney Feature Animation.  The Hunchback of Notre Dame was released in 1996 and was rated G.  Treasure Planet was released six years later in 2002 and was rated PG. 

If you haven’t seen The Hunchback of Notre Dame recently, you might be surprised at the high amount of adult content in it.  It deals with important themes like the battle of good versus evil and the idea that we are all children of God, but it also includes dark scenes delving into the lust a church official feels for a gypsy girl (including a song called “Hellfire”) and featuring violent murders of innocent people.  In contrast, the only potentially offensive material I can remember in Treasure Planet is some fantasy violence. 

I personally prefer The Hunchback of Notre Dame over Treasure Planet, but I would never let my young children watch it.  I feel that the ratings for the two movies, especially when compared with one another, do not accurately portray the content in them.  The Hunchback of Notre Dame should definitely be rated PG.  What do you think?   

7 Responses to “The Hunchback of Notre Dame and Treasure Planet”

  1. Mara Says:

    I would agree, I have seen movies with way less adult content than Hunchback that are still PG. I recently re-watched it and I was surprised at how suggestive the movie was. I wondered what my parents had thought when I was in the sixth grade and they took me to see it in the theatre for the first time… I haven’t seen treasure planet, but I have seen movies like Shrek that are animated but still PG, and I would definitely say that Hunchback of Notre Dame is just as scandalous (if not more so), and deserves the same ratings. How is it that ratings are decided, anyway? And have the rules changed at all?

  2. medialitthis Says:

    It seems like if it is a disney movie then it will recieve a lower rating just because it’s “Disney”.

  3. Jenna Says:

    Well, I think too that you have to look at what a child is going to pick up on. There are shows that I loved as a child that I watch now and think are crazy suggestive. I haven’t seen treasure planet, but though Hunchback has a lot of adult content, a lot of it, I think is in a form that is not going to reach children. The good verses evil will, but that’s the basis for most stories in one way or another, good guy verses bad guy. I do think that the two ratings are pretty arbitrary though.

  4. Jenna Says:

    Aren’t ratings just decided when they do early screenings, and the people are surveyed as to what rating that they think the movie should get. So, the rating really just depends on the feelings of the people who happened to be chosen to help select the rating?

  5. Nikki Says:

    First off I think it is a great idea that children at an early are learning about the fight of good verse evil, especially when it comes to religion, so the child can decide for themselves what to believe. The music in it is amazing. If you are going to fight for this movie to not be shown to children I would look at Bambi first, where the mother GETS SHOT!!! or Finding Nemo where the mother GETS EATEN!!! I would fight for those way before I would fight for H.O.N.D.For me the song Hellfire and God Help the Outcast stay in my mind as part of the wonderful pieces of music that Disney use to do and I look at Bambi as giving me nightmares. I think I have only read of one incident where the watching of a Disney movie let to bad events and that was Mary Poppins because some kid thought he could fit down the chimney, should that be rated PG too?

  6. sozomusume Says:

    I think The Hunchback was waisted on kids. I remember being little and watching this when it first came out and I didn’t get any of it. I got that you shouldn’t judge others on where they came from or what they look like but the whole lust thing I didn’t under stand.

    Now that I’m older I watch it and think “Wow not even Disney could kiddy this story”.

  7. cchecker2011 Says:

    Online CC Checker Anonymous 2011 ==>> cordalis.0fees.net


Leave a Reply

